ELIZABETH BATHORY CONDESA SANGRIENTA PDF

The Bloody Countess: The Atrocities of Erzsebet Bathory .. Habiendo leído otros libros sobre la Condesa Sangrienta, he de reconocer que este libro me costó. Isabel Báthory es conocida por ser considerada la mayor asesina en La Condesa Sangrienta () narra desde la niñez, la vida de Isabel. La vida de la asesina más temida de todos los tiempos habría terminado hace años, un 21 de agosto,la condesa Elizabeth Bathory ponía.

Author: Kagashura Mokasa
Country: Greece
Language: English (Spanish)
Genre: Career
Published (Last): 25 October 2004
Pages: 320
PDF File Size: 8.39 Mb
ePub File Size: 13.43 Mb
ISBN: 547-7-25984-758-6
Downloads: 61499
Price: Free* [*Free Regsitration Required]
Uploader: Shaktigrel

May 25, Sarah added it. Sep 30, Steve Davies rated it liked it. Instead, the book is replete with passages such as this: Want to Read Currently Reading Read. Alas, she also had the power to quench her thirst. She used the instrument to cut off their hands, noses, and genitals.

This book follows in the vein of La Bas and Benedetti’s Bluebeard–lyrical and poetic, we are able to see not only the actions but also the psychological and historical affecting and surrounding Erzsebet Bathory. Wikimedia Commons The ruins of Csejte Castle today. Apart from that is a very interesting reading about a homicidal maniac that was Elisab This book is Perhaps, historians say, the true story of Elizabeth Bathory looks more like this: It took only a few months for the religious and civil authorities to find out what had happened to them.

It takes you a while to get used to the weird way it’s written and the constant exotic phrases that mix History with fiction. Penrose does an amazing job at giving a sense of the absolute and unrepentant darkness of the Countess.

Elizabeth Bathory, The Blood Countess: Fact Vs. Fiction

The young daughters of Hungarian noblemen whose education she had been entrusted with started to disappear or fall mysteriously ill: In a desperate attempt to preserve her beauty, she started to perform human sacrifices and secret rites in which sex and torture were a daily occurrence. What a terrifying time to live through. I am well versed in the most horrific war crimes that have occured in Africa elizabth the last years and while this book is very graphic in its describtions it still pales when compared to some of the things I’ve read about people doing to one another.

  MANGEZ GUEVREMONT PDF

Provided that we will never have a full knowledge of all her deeds, the woman who was to be known as ‘Bloody Countess’ murdered hundreds of bqthory to satisfy her darkest desires These years witnessed a reign of cruelty unsurpassed in the annals of mass murder, with the Countess’ depredations on the virgin girls of the Carpathians leading to some deaths.

As for the book, the topic is interesting, the writing style isn’t my favorite.

Quotes from The Bloody Counte Elizabet, and trully amazing; reading is believing. Taken as fiction, this is a fun read, but don’t rely on it as history.

The Disturbing True Story Of Elizabeth Bathory, The Blood Countess

Bathory herself was bricked up in her room at Csejte, where she remained under house arrest for four years until her death elizabetj I’ve read countless books on Erzsebet Bathory, and I was hoping to glean a little more insight into her motivations, as well as learn more facts about her life. I read this concurrently with a class in Western Civilization, so it was interesting to compare the author’s version with the actual history of 16th century Hungary.

I was hoping to gather actual facts on Erzabeth Bathory without as much of the exaggeration and superstitious lore that have surrounded her story. They become very close and their relationship is shown in their poetry from to about Penrose writes about the occult as if it were real and she describes the historical figures involved as if she knew them personally, when in fact the historical record is far too fragmentary to be sure of anyone’s personality or motivations.

Difficult pronunciations of names and places aside, I wonder how much of the writing condsea actually lost in translation. Finally, read the true story behind the real-life Bloody Mary. Valentine Penrose was a Surrealist poet, one of the first women in the movement.

Elizabeth Bathory : La condesa sangrienta / The Bloody Countess

In a secret underground room like a crypt, Darv Valentine Penrose was a Surrealist poet, one of the first women in the movement. Readers seeking a sober recounting of history will not find it in this book.

  CLEVE BACKSTER PRIMARY PERCEPTION PDF

Also, there’s a portrait of the countess within the book although whether or not this portrait is the actual surviving portrait of Countess Bathory is questionable. A fun read, as long as you don’t take it as gospel. There is no embellishment of any sort in the depiction of the main characters. Or did powerful men fabricate those horrors to seize her wealth? At times, the book loses your attention through its rather monotonous approach at explaining individuals and their histories, but there’s enough blood and horror in this biography to keep you pushing forward.

This subject is simply too dark for me, and I have read many many books about atrocities and genocide. And this section was in an appendix after the book.

Jan 09, Jennifer rated it did not like it Recommends it for: Perplexingly awful; I’m one of those gullible fraidy-cat types who loves a good story about serial killers medieval or otherwisebut I couldn’t finish this. The best cast scenario is that Bathory abused her servants but came nowhere near the level of violence alleged at her trial. The translation to English is less than seamless, making for a stilting read, but this book is worth every second.

Bounced around quite a lot and on at least 10 occasions, the publisher published blank pages rather than what needed to be written. Clad in red velvet, adorned in white, in black or pearl, her face heavily made up beneath the large pale forehead. I have literally read textbooks for fun I’m a dork I know but this was absolutely unbearable.

Throughout the book, Penrose makes reference to another sadistic fuck by the name of Gilles de Rais. The title of this biography, written by the poet Valentine Penrose, is misleading.